S4M - Smart Sensing and SystemS Monitoring

Head : Eric CAMPO
Secretary : Elena STRAT

 

S4M

Smart Sensing and SystemS Monitoring

 

Provide innovative solutions for intelligent monitoring of complex systems

 

The multiplication of components off-the-shelf (COTS), the reduction of costs linked to volume manufacturing processes and the evolution of communication technologies have enabled the development of integrated devices for measuring as closely as possible of the physical phenomena to be observed. The distribution of these interconnected measuring devices allows the implementation of a communicating multifunctional smart system.

To deal with the understanding and modeling of complex systems, our approach is to develop such a distributed instrumentation based on multi-sensory smart sensor advanced technologies, combining low-energy computing capabilities, versatile architectures and Wireless communications.

The main objective is to analyze the weaknesses of the observed system. For several years, the S4M team has focused its efforts on the development of methods and technologies for the analysis, identification and localization of vibration and displacements signatures in heterogeneous materials or structures. Preferred applications are Structural Health Monitoring (SHM) or Human Health Monitoring (HHM).

S4M - Instrumentation embarquée et systèmes de surveillance intelligents

Responsable : Eric CAMPO
Secrétariat : Anaïs MOULIS

 

S4M

Smart Sensing and SystemS Monitoring

 

Proposer des solutions innovantes pour la surveillance intelligente de systèmes complexes

 

La multiplication des composants sur étagère (components off-the-shelf ou COTS), la réduction des coûts liée à des procédés de fabrication en volume et l’évolution des technologies de communication ont permis le développement de dispositifs intégrés pour la mesure au plus près des phénomènes physiques à observer. La distribution de ces dispositifs de mesure interconnectés permet la mise en place d’un système intelligent multifonctionnel communicant.

Afin d’aborder la compréhension et la modélisation de systèmes complexes, notre approche consiste à développer une telle instrumentation distribuée basée sur des technologies avancées de capteurs intelligents multi-sensoriels, combinant des capacités de calcul peu consommatrice d’énergie, des architectures polyvalentes et des communications sans fil.

L’objectif principal réside dans l’analyse des faiblesses du système observé.  Depuis plusieurs années, l’équipe S4M a porté ses efforts sur le développement de méthodes et de technologies pour l’analyse, l’identification et la localisation de signatures et de déplacements de vibration dans des matériaux ou structures hétérogènes. Des applications privilégiées concernent le monitoring de la santé de structure (Structural Health Monitoring ou SHM) ou de l’Homme (HHM ou Human Health Monitoring).