Power Management System Integration - ISGE

Head : Fredéric MORANCHO
Secretary : Ascension DE SOUSA BERDAT

One of the big challenges that our society will have to face over the next decade is related to energy issues. Worldwide, most of the energy is consumed into transports and buildings, both residential and industrial, thus resulting in a significant increase in CO2 emissions and in global warming. The majority of this energy is generated by non-renewable and non-environmentally friendly coal, fossil fuel and natural gas.

In the objective of a sustainable development, the widespread of alternative energy sources in transportation and buildings is the solution that will require a major paradigm shift in the power industry. Transports will become more electrically driven thus demanding for new generations of power devices and converters. For a large penetration of renewable energies, it is more appropriate to move from a centralized generation approach to a distributed one, especially for photovoltaic energy.

These evolutions require an efficient management of the resources, storage and use of energy, strongly depending on the performance of integrated power devices and systems. In addition to the improvement of the conversion efficiency of such systems, other important challenges are the required miniaturization, the evolution towards intelligent and autonomous power systems, with an increased reliability and robustness.

Picture of ISGE team

To tackle these energy challenges, ISGE research team has focused its scientific approaches on the integration of systems enabling a function of electrical power conversion both efficient and reliable. These studies are carried out in LAAS technology Platform to implement 3D approaches issued from advanced microtechnologies (trenches, double-side lithography…) and introduce new materials, either into the silicon process (magnetic materials, high-K dielectrics, BCB), or as the starting semiconductor material (GaN, diamond). To this aim, the research activities are organized in five topics that are complementary and strongly interdependent:

Head : Frédéric Morancho
Assistant : Ascension DE SOUSA BERDAT

Intégration de Systèmes de Gestion de l'Energie - ISGE

À ce jour et dans les prochaines décennies, notre société va être confrontée à des défis majeurs en termes de ressources et de consommation d’énergie. En effet, la consommation de l’énergie mondiale est majoritairement liée aux transports et aux bâtiments. La plupart de cette énergie est produite à partir de ressources non renouvelables (pétrole, gaz, charbon) qui ont un impact négatif sur l’environnement et sont à l’origine de l’accroissement des émissions de CO2 et du réchauffement climatique.

Dans l’optique d’un développement durable, le défi majeur réside dans l’adoption de sources d’énergie alternatives dans les transports et les bâtiments nécessitant un changement de paradigme dans l’industrie de l’électronique de puissance. Les transports vont devenir “plus électriques“ et nécessiter de nouvelles générations de composants de puissance et d’architectures de conversion. Afin d’aboutir à une large pénétration des énergies renouvelables, une génération distribuée de l’énergie devient plus appropriée que l’approche centralisée actuelle, en particulier, pour l’énergie photovoltaïque.

Ces évolutions nécessitent une gestion performante des ressources, du stockage et de l’utilisation de l’énergie, largement conditionnée par la maîtrise des composants et des systèmes intégrés de puissance. Outre l’amélioration significative du rendement des systèmes de conversion de l’énergie, les défis de la gestion de l’énergie électrique résident dans le besoin d’une forte miniaturisation, l’évolution vers des systèmes de puissance intelligents pouvant être autonomes, dotés d’une fiabilité et d’une robustesse accrues.

Photo des membres de l'équipe

Face à ces défis, l'équipe ISGE a orienté sa démarche scientifique vers l’intégration des systèmes capables d’assurer une fonction de conversion de l’énergie électrique opérationnelle et sécurisée. Il s’appuie sur la plateforme technologique du LAAS pour mettre en œuvre des approches 3D issues des technologies microélectroniques avancées (tranchées, lithographie double face…) et également de nouveaux matériaux, soit dans la filière silicium (matériaux magnétiques, diélectriques à fort ε, BCB), soit en tant que matériau semiconducteur de base (GaN, diamant). Dans cette perspective, l’activité scientifique est structurée selon cinq thématiques complémentaires et fortement interdépendantes :

Intranet de l'équipe