Diagnosis and Supervisory Control - DISCO

Head: Yannick PENCOLE
Financial assistant: Jeanette Thibault

 

Team intranet

The objective of the DISCO team is to develop a broad-spectrum methodological research in the field of diagnostics. This team, whose scientific skills are at the frontiers of Automation and Artificial Intelligence, aims to study abductive reasoning, applied to a wide variety of system classes (static systems, dynamic systems: discrete, continuous or hybrid). The fundamental principle of a diagnostic process is to compare the  observation of a real system (uncertain or not, noisy measurements, alarms, messages, tests) with the available knowledge of this system (models, uncertain or not) in order to establish a health state. This research is motivated by the fact that diagnosis is crucial to improve, among other things, the safety, resilience and maintainability of systems. To conduct this research, DISCO's activities can be divided into three types.

  • Formal study of diagnostic properties (diagnosability, identifiability,...) in dynamic systems (discrete, continuous, hybrid).
     
  • Development of diagnostic methods and algorithms (diagnosers) on the classes of systems studied with the production of software and demonstrators.
  • Study of specific applications in partnership with industrial companies (aeronautics, agriculture, automotive, medicine, microelectronics, space).


 

 

 

 

 

 



The DISCO team contributes to the full chain of a diagnostic process:

  1.  Acquisition models for diagnosis by machine-learning methods.

    DISCO develops static classification methods with extraction of indicators (normal, abnormal, healthy, healthy, sick, faulty, etc.) on populations of individuals exploiting fuzzy logic [hal-01998674], neural networks [hal-01998620]. A dynamic classification method, on the other hand, offers the possibility of learning dynamic states of behaviour and detecting changes between these states by also detecting new states [hal-02135580]. DISCO also contributes to the machine-learning of time models (chronicles) by using time data mining techniques on system logs to discover time-discriminatory operating classes [hal-01817529], [hal-01611635].
     
  2.  Analysis of diagnostic models by formal methods.

    Whether the models are obtained by machine-learning or by expertise, the development of an efficient and effective diagnostic method requires analyses of the system model beforehand. The performance of a diagnostic method is based not only on the quality of the models but also on the measurement capacity and the structure of the system. DISCO develops methods for verifying the diagnosability of discrete [hal-01574475], continuous [hal-01198408] and hybrid systems [hal-02004402] by identifying critical pairs (certificates) whose non-existence ensures that it will always be possible in finite time to provide a single diagnosis. Some work on sensitivity analysis in continuous systems also proposes to define experimental conditions that ensure faults will be detected [hal-01914534]. Structural analyses of such systems are also proposed in order to define relevant diagnostic tests in advance, to select discriminating sensors or to decentralize diagnostic algorithms [hal-01882324].
     
  3. Development of diagnostic algorithms

    The synthesis of diagnosers (diagnostic algorithms) is based on the existence of a model, a flow of observations and a level of objective depending on the knowledge derived from the model. The basic objective is the estimation of system states. One of the difficulties of this estimation is the management of the different sources of uncertainty (set-membership computing, interval/ellipsoid/zonotope, interval Kalman filter) in continuous systems [hal-01739540], [hal-01884592], [hal-01884636] or in hybrid systems (reachability) [hal-01650701] and also the management of statistical uncertainty sources (interval Kalman filters [hal-01561951]) . The second level of objective is the location of faults in the system (where is the fault?). DISCO develops localization techniques by setting up CSP-type problems (constraint satisfaction problems) in logical systems [hal-01929533], or by exploiting the theory of the residual of (max,+) algebra on timed discrete event systems [hal-01954270].  The third level of objective is fault identification. This diagnostic problem is addressed on all types of systems: model-checking diagnosis with Petri nets [hal-01827362], non-linear observers [hal-01763870] or exploitation of analytical redundancy expression on continuous/hybrid systems [hal-01229077] , management of bounded and mixed uncertainties [hal-01739540], use of distributed diagnostic methods [hal-01229097]. DISCO also contributes to the synthesis of plans and orders taking into account faults (fault-tolerant control)   [hal-01884700] or used to refine a diagnosis (active diagnosis) [hal-02056090]. The fourth and last level of objective is fault/failure explanation where we look in the system for unanticipated behaviours (patterns, propagation of events) that are the cause of the appearance of the fault (explainable system behaviours, algorithm explainability).
     
  4. Diagnostic/prognostic integration for predictive maintenance

    DISCO is studying the integration of diagnostic methods with ageing prognosis methods in order to improve the predictive maintenance of systems. The objective is to provide a degradation diagnosis that feeds an aging model of system equipment to determine the residual useful life of the system. DISCO addresses this theme by modelling the prerequisites of a good ageing model  [hal-01993849] and by formally defining a diagnostic and prognostic framework (Hybrid Particle Petri Nets) [hal-01229083]. DISCO also develops diagnostic/prognostic coupling techniques based set-membership computing [hal-01929470].

DIagnostic, Supervision et COnduite - DISCO

Responsable : Yannick PENCOLE
Gestionnaire : Jeanette Thibault

 

Intranet de l'équipe

 


L'objectif de l'équipe DISCO est de développer une recherche méthodologique à large spectre dans le domaine du diagnostic. Cette équipe dont les compétences scientifiques sont aux frontières de l'automatique et l'intelligence artificielle a pour objet d'étude un raisonnement de type abductif qui est appliqué à une large variété de classes de systèmes (systèmes statiques, systèmes dynamiques: de nature discrète, continue ou hybride). Le principe fondamental d'un processus de diagnostic est de confronter l'observation incertaine ou non d'un système réel  (mesures bruitées, alarmes, messages, tests) à la connaissance disponible de ce système (modèles incertains ou non) en vue d'établir un état de santé. Cette recherche est motivée par le fait que le diagnostic est crucial en vue d'améliorer, entre autres, la sûreté, la résilience et la maintenabilité des systèmes. Les activités de DISCO pour mener cette recherche peuvent se décliner en trois types.

  1. Étude formelle de propriétés relatives au diagnostic (diagnosticabilité, identifiabilité,...) dans les systèmes dynamiques (discrets, continus, hybrides).
  2. Développement de méthodes et d'algorithmes de diagnostic (diagnostiqueurs) sur les classes de systèmes étudiés avec la production de logiciels et de démonstrateurs.
  3. Étude d'applications particulières en partenariat notamment avec des industriels (aéronautique, agriculture, automobile, médecine, spatial).


 

 

 

 

 

 


L'équipe DISCO contribue à toute la chaîne du processus de diagnostic:

  1. Acquisition des modèles pour le diagnostic par des méthodes de type apprentissage automatique.

    DISCO développe des méthodes de classification statique avec extraction d'indicateurs  (normal, anormal, sain, malade, fautif, etc.) sur des populations d'individus exploitant la logique floue [hal-01998674], les réseaux de neurones [hal-01998620]. Une méthode de classification dynamique offre quant à elle, la possibilité d'apprendre des états de comportement dynamiques et de détecter des changements entre ces états en détectant également des états nouveaux [hal-02135580].  DISCO contribue également à l'apprentissage automatique de modèles temporels (type chroniques) en exploitant des techniques de fouilles de données temporelles sur des logs de systèmes afin de découvrir des classes de fonctionnements temporellement discriminables [hal-01817529],  [hal-01611635].

  2. Analyses  de modèles de diagnostic par des méthodes formelles.

    Que les modèles soient obtenus par apprentissage automatique ou par expertise, le développement d'une méthode de diagnostic efficace et performante nécessite des analyses  du modèle  du système au préalable. La performance d'une méthode de diagnostic repose non seulement sur la qualité des modèles mais également sur la capacité de mesures et sur la structure du système. DISCO propose des méthodes pour la vérification de la diagnosticabilité de systèmes discrets [hal-01574475], continus  [hal-01198408] et hybrides [hal-02004402] par la mise en évidence ou non de paires critiques (certificats) dont la non-existence garantit qu'il sera toujours possible en temps fini de fournir un diagnostic unique. Des travaux sur l'analyse de sensibilités dans les systèmes continus proposent également de définir des conditions expérimentales qui garantissent la sensibilisation aux défauts [hal-01914534]. Des analyses structurelles de tels systèmes sont également proposées afin de définir au préalable des tests de diagnostic pertinents, de sélectionner des capteurs discriminants ou de décentraliser les algorithmes de diagnostic [hal-01882324].
     

  3. Développement d'algorithmes de diagnostic

    La synthèse de diagnostiqueurs (algorithmes de diagnostic) repose sur l'existence d'un modèle, d'un flot d'observations et d'un niveau d'objectif fonction de la connaissance issue du modèle. L'objectif de base est l'estimation d'états du système. L'une des difficultés de cette estimation est la gestion des différentes sources d'incertitudes (calcul ensembliste de type intervalles/ellipsoïdes/zonotopes,  filtre de Kalman par intervalles) dans les systèmes continus [hal-01739540], [hal-01884592], [hal-01884636] . et  hybrides (atteignabilité) [hal-01650701] et intègrent également des sources d'incertitudes statistiques (filtre de Kalman par intervalles [hal-01561951]). Le deuxième niveau d'objectif est la localisation de défauts dans le système (où est le défaut?). DISCO propose des techniques de localisation par la mise en place de problèmes type CSP (problème de satisfaction de contraintes) dans des systèmes logiques [hal-01929533], l'exploitation de la théorie de la résiduation de l'algèbre max,+ sur des systèmes à événements discrets temporisés [hal-01954270].  Le troisième niveau d'objectif est l'identification de défauts. Ce problème de diagnostic est quant à lui abordé sur tous les types de systèmes: diagnostic par model-checking sur des réseaux de Petri [hal-01827362], observateurs non-linéaires  [hal-01763870] et  exploitation d'expression de redondances analytiques sur des systèmes continus/hybrides [hal-01229077], prise en compte d'incertitudes bornées et mixtes [hal-01739540], méthodes distribuées de diagnostic [hal-01229097]. DISCO propose également  des travaux sur la synthèse de plans et de commandes prenant en compte des défauts (commande tolérante aux fautes)  [hal-01884700] ou servant à raffiner un diagnostic (diagnostic actif) [hal-02056090]. Le quatrième et dernier niveau d'objectif est l'explication de défauts où l'on recherche dans le système, les comportements (motifs, propagation d'événements) non anticipés qui sont la cause de l'apparition du défaut (comportements explicables de systèmes, explicabilité des algorithmes).
     

  4. Intégration  diagnostic/pronostic pour la maintenance prévisionnelle

    DISCO étudie l'intégration des méthodes de diagnostic avec des méthodes de pronostic de viellissement en vue d'améliorer la maintenance prévisionnelle des systèmes. L'objectif est de fournir un diagnostic de dégradation qui alimente un modèle de vieillissement des équipements de systèmes en vue de déterminer la durée de vie résiduelle du système. DISCO aborde cette thématique par la modélisation des prérequis d'un bon modèle de vieillissement  [hal-01993849] et par la définition formelle d'un cadre diagnostic et pronostic  (Réseaux de Petri Hybrides Particulaires) [hal-01229083]. DISCO développe également des  techniques de couplage diagnostic/pronostic s'appuyant sur du calcul ensembliste [hal-01929470].