MEMS - Microelectromechanical systems

Head : Thierry LEICHLE
Secretary : Elena STRAT

News          People          Alumni          Research topics          Publications

Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) are tiny devices with movable/vibrating parts providing solutions for sensors and actuators. Initially derived from the microelectronic industry, MEMS are now found in a wide range of consumer products.

The MEMS research team at LAAS works towards increasing the performance, the reliability, and the integrability of MEMS devices but also towards providing new functionalities and transduction mechanisms. To this aim, projects developed in our team focus on three research themes: the exploration of novel materials and alternative fabrication methods; the integration and implementation of new functions at the system level; and finally the development of dedicated instrumentation and the applications of MEMS as sensors and probing elements.

 

 

The MEMS team gathers researchers of various and complementary backgrounds. Research projects conducted within the MEMS team are carried out in the framework of the LAAS technological platforms, among which an extensive cleanroom, characterization facilities and a biochemical lab, allowing our team to work at all stages of MEMS fabrication, from the device design to its integration.

MEMS - Microsystèmes électromécaniques

Responsable : Thierry LEICHLE
Secrétariat : Elena STRAT

News          People          Alumni          Sujets de recherche          Publications

Les microsystèmes électromécaniques (MEMS) sont des dispositifs miniaturisés à éléments mobiles/vibrants qui sont utilisés pour réaliser des capteurs et des actionneurs. Initialement dérivés de l'industrie microélectronique, les MEMS sont maintenant présents dans une large gamme de produits de consommation.

L'équipe de recherche MEMS du LAAS travaille sur des stratégies qui visent à augmenter les performances, la fiabilité et l'intégrabilité des dispositifs MEMS mais aussi à permettre de nouvelles fonctionnalités et de nouveaux mécanismes de transduction. Dans ce but, les projets développés dans notre équipe se concentrent sur trois thèmes de recherche: l'exploration de nouveaux matériaux et procédés de fabrication alternatifs; l'intégration et la mise en œuvre de nouvelles fonctions au niveau système; et enfin le développement d'instrumentation dédiée et l’application des MEMS en particulier au domaine biomédical.

 

 

L'équipe MEMS réunit des chercheurs d’horizons divers et complémentaires. Les projets de recherche menés au sein de l'équipe MEMS sont réalisés sur les plates-formes technologiques du laboratoire, permettant à notre équipe de travailler à tous les stades de réalisation des MEMS, de la conception du dispositif à son intégration.